ems-message special issue may 2021

Erik Lundtang Petersen receives EMS Silver Medal

The award recognises his outstanding scientific contribution to wind energy meteorology and his leading role in the creation of the European Wind Atlas which is regarded as a major contribution to the future of European resilience.[more]

Athanasios Damialis wins EMS Tromp Award

The EMS Tromp Award for an outstanding achievement in biometeorology 2021 will be presented to Athanasios Damialis for the publication: “Higher airborne pollen concentrations correlated with increased SARS-CoV-2 infection rates, as evidenced from 31 countries across the globe”.[more]

Outstanding Contribution Award for Frank Beyrich

Frank Beyrich is honoured for his relentless activity as the Programme Stream Moderator for Understanding Weather and Climate Processes. Throughout, Frank has been committed to developing and enhancing the session programme in a way that takes account of new directions and upcoming trends in research and applications.[more]

Award Ceremony 2020: 1 June 2021 – Mark the date!

In 2020 Jean Jouzel, France, was selected to receive the EMS Silver Medal. Also Velle Toll, Estonia, won the EMS Young Scientist Award. We are delighted to celebrate these two outstanding scientists with an Awards Ceremony on 1 June 2021.[more]