EMS Silver Medal

The EMS Silver Medal was established in 2008 to highlight distinguished contributions to the development of meteorology in Europe. The Award is presented annually.

Candidates for the EMS Silver Medal can be nominated by EMS Member Societies and Associate Members, EMS Committees and Project Teams, and EMS Council representatives. The EMS Awards Committee, consisting of senior members of meteorological institutions in Europe, makes recommendations to the EMS Council for a final decision.

The Award consists of the Silver Medal and a certificate. The awardee is invited to give a Silver Medal Lecture the EMS Annual Meeting.

Call for nominations 2017

The call for nominations for the Silver Medal 2017 is now closed. The recipient is Julia Slingo, UK, and the Silver Medal will be presented to her on 5 September 2017, at the EMS Annual Meeting in Dublin.

Silver Medal 2016

The EMS Silver Medal 2016 was awarded to Michel Jarraud. The medal was presented at the EMS & ECAC in Trieste in September 2016.