2002

## **Young Scientist Travel Awards**

AMS Mountain Meteorology Conference, Utah Massimiliano de Franceschi, University of Trento, Italy Marie Lothon, Paul Sabatier University Toulouse, France Simon Tschannett, University of Vienna, Austria Martin Weissmann, University of Innsbruck, Austria Matthias Zillig, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

2003

# Young Scientist Award

**Dr. Daniela Meloni**, University of Rome, Italy **Dr. Richard Forbes**, University of Reading, U.K

## Young Scientist Travel Awards

27th International Conference on Alpine Meteorology (ICAM) and the Annual Scientific Meeting of the Mesoscale Alpine Programme (MAP), Brig, Switzerland Lucia-Maria Wielke, University of Vienna, Austria Monica Ionita, University of Bucharest, Romania

International Conference on Education in Weather, Oceanography and Climate (EWOC), Madrid, Spain

A group of students led by Dr. Francisca Wheeler: Edward Chu, Ky Derek Ng, Kevin Woo and Daniel Yuen, Ampleforth College, York, United Kingdom Michal Belda, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic Markus Boljahn, Free University of Berlin, Germany Sevim Müller, Free University of Berlin, Germany Sebastian Unger, Free University of Berlin, Germany Claudia Voß, Free University of Berlin, Germany

2004

## Young Scientist Award

Dr. Szilvia Horvath, Universities of Szeged and Budapest, Hungary

## Young Scientist Travel Awards

MOUNTAIN MET/MAP Danijel Belusic, University of Zagreb, Croatia Andreas P. Weigel, ETH Zurich, Switzerland Martin Weissmann, DLR Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany ICHM

**Miroslav Müller**, Institute of Atmospheric Physics ASCR, Praha, Czech Republic **Samuel Randalls**, University of Birmingham, U.K.

ERAD

Monika Pfeifer, DLR Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany

**4th EMS ANNUAL MEETING Laila Amraoui** ,University of Lyon, France **Suraje Dessai**, University of East Anglia, Norwich, U.K. **Patrick Marsh**, University of Arkansas, USA **Patrik Nilsson**, University of Lund, Sweden **Frank Schneider**, Meteo-Research, Germany **Thomas Spiess**, Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany **Gert-Jan Steeneveld**, Wageningen University, The Netherlands

European Conference on Severe Storms (ECSS) 2004, Leon, Spain Johannes Dahl, ESTOFEX, Berlin, Germany Christoph Gatzen, DLR, Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany Pieter Groenemijer, Untrecht University, The Netherlands

2005

**Young Scientist Award** 

Dr. Martijn P.C. de Jong, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

**Kipp&Zonen** Young Scientist Award for outstanding work in Boundary Layer Meteorology Geert-Jan Steeneveld, Wageningen University, Netherlands

## Young Scientist Travel Awards

5th Conference on Urban Air Quality Valencia, Spain Glenda Sorgo, University of Zagreb, Croatia Fabio Dalan, ARPAV, Italy

28th International Conference on Alpine Meteorology (ICAM) and the Annual Scientific Meeting of the Mesoscale Alpine Programme (MAP) 2005, Zadar, Croatia Cathy Hohenegger, ETH Zurich, Switzerland Franck Lascaux, CNRS/UPS Toulouse, France

2005 EUMETSAT Satellite Conference, Dubrovnik, Croatia Tanja Trosic, Rudjer Boskovic Institute, Zagreb, Croatia

World Weather Research Program Symposium on Nowcasting and Very Short Range Prediction, Toulouse, France Benedikt Bica, University of Vienna, Austria Simon Tschannett, University of Vienna, Austria Fifth EMS Annual Meeting, Part and Partner: 7th European Conference on Applications of Meteorology, Utrecht, the Netherlands

**Francesco Cesarone**, Institute of Biometeorology, Rome, Italy **Monica Ionita**, National Meteorological Administration, Bucharest, Romania **Oleg Kartavtsev**, Ecomedservice, Kiev, Ukraine **Raluca Radu**, National Meteorological Administration, Bucharest, Romania

### EMS Media Award

Jay Trobec, KELO-TV, Sioux Falls, USA

2006

### **The Young Scientist Award**

#### Dr. Jan Kysely

Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic)

### The Young Scientist Award, awarded together by EMS and COST

#### Dr. Mathias Müller

Institut für Meteorologie, Klimatologie und Fernerkundung, Universität Basel, Switzerland

**Kipp&Zonen** Young Scientist Award for outstanding work in Boundary Layer Meteorology Jan Cermak, University of Marburg, Germany.

### **Young Scientist Travel Awards**

6th EMS Annual Meeting and 6th ECAC, Ljuljana, Slovenia, 4-8 September 2006 Four of these awards were awarded together by EMS and COST.

Alex Pommier, University Jean Moulin, Lyon, France

**Frank Kreienkamp**, Climate & Environment Consulting Potsdam Gmbh, Germany **Antje Claussnitzer**, Meteorologishes Institut, Freie UniversitätBerlin, Germany **Massimiliano de Franceschi**, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Trento, Italy

Andrea Vajda, Finish Meteorological Institute, Helsinki, Finland

**Lucie Jurikovska**, Institute of Geoinformatics, University, Technical University of Ostrava, Czech Republic

**Gert-Jan Steeneveld**, Meteorology and Air Quality Group, Wageningen University, The Netherlands

### The EMS Media Award

### Jay Trobec, KELO-TV, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, USA

2006 ESA Symposium: 15 Years of Progress in RADAR Altimetry, 13- 18 March 2006, Venice , Italy

Dr. Jesus Gómez-Enri, Applied Physica Department, University of Cadiz, Spain

3rd ENVISAT Summer School on Earth System Modelling and Monitoring, 2006, Frascati, Italy. Three Poster awards have been given:

Valentina Sicardi, Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry, Jena, Germany Ana Prieto-Blanco, University of Wales Swansea, UK (100 €) Raul Lopez-Lozano, Centro de Investigacion y Tecnologia Agroalimentaria de Aragon, Spain

13th International Symposium for the Advancement of Boundary Layer remote Sensing, 17 – 21 July 2006, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany Rostislav Kouznetsov Obukov Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Russian Academy of Science, Moscow, Russia

2007

# Young Scientist Travel Awards

6th Conference on Urban Air Quality, Cyprus Aynul Bari, University of Stuttgart, Germany Christof Gromke, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

29th International Conference on Alpine Meteorology (ICAM) 2007, Chambéry, France Kristina Horvath, ETH Zurich, Switzerland Teitur Arason, University of Iceland, Iceland

ENVISAT Symposium 2007, Montreux, France Jadunandan Dash, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

ECMWF Annual Seminar 2007, Reading, United Kingdom Reima Eresmaa, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Helsinki, Finland

4th European Conference on Severe Storms 2007, Trieste, Italy Lisa Schielicke, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany Christoph Gatzen, MC-Wetter GmbH Berlin, Germany

7th EMS Annual Meeting/ 8th European Conference on Applications of Meteorology 2007, San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain Ana Cirisan, University of Novi Sad, Serbia Edit Hágel, Hungarian Meteorological Service, Budapest, Hungary Ioana Colfescu, National Meteorological Administration, Bucarest, Romania Ágota Juhász, Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary Csilla Vincze, Department of Meteorology, Eötvös Lorand University Budapest, Hungary

**Kipp&Zonen** Young Scientist Award for outstanding work in Boundary Layer Meteorology Ivan Mammarella, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Helsinki, Finland

### **EMS Media Awards**

The best TV weather forecast of the year 2007 Francis Wilson, United Kingdom

EMS Broadcast Meteorologist Award 2007 José Antonio Maldonado, Madrid, Spain