Abisko and Tarfala Research Stations, Abisko National Park, Sweden

ACDC2022: “The Dynamics of the Global Water Cycle”

ACDC2020/2021 is cancelled, and moved to ACDC2022 in August/September 2022

Advanced Climate Dynamics Courses (ACDC) are yearly summer schools organized by the Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research (University of Bergen) in collaboration with the University of Washington, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, and the University of Texas at Austin supported by ACER funded by the Norwegian Agency for International Cooperation and Quality Enhancement in Higher Education (DIKU) and the Research School on Changing Climates in the coupled Earth System (CHESS). Partners for this year’s summer school include Harvard University, McGill University, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, and IBS Centre for Climate Physics.

Topic: Dynamics of the Global Water Cycle

Venue: Abisko and Tarfala Research Stations, Abisko National Park, Sweden

Dates: August/September 2022

The application will open early 2022.

Target: Focused on advanced graduate students (PhDs). Other applications will be  considered on a case by case basis if there is space (admission is competitive).

Goal: To mix diverse students and lecturers with empirical and dynamical training within climate science and focus on understanding the basic principles and dynamics relating the global water cycle.

Price: All expenses on site are covered by the summer school, but participants have to cover their own travel to the venue themselves.

Key topics to be included:

  • Atmospheric moisture, clouds, and aerosols
  • Extreme weather
  • Ocean circulation and the freshwater budget
  • Floods and flood variability
  • Soil moisture and climate
  • Water balance and agriculture
  • Paleo evidence of the hydrological cycle
  • Sea level and ice sheets
  • Cryosphere, ice-ocean interaction, and ice-cores.

Confirmed lecturers: David Battisti (University of Washington), Jake Gebbie (WHOI), Kerim H. Nisancioglu (UiB/BCCR/UiO), Øyvind Paasche (UiB/BCCR), Peter Huybers (Harvard University), Natalya Gomez (McGill University), Patrick Heimbach (University of Texas at Austin), Gunhild (Ninis) Rosqvist (Stockholm University), Iselin Medhaug (ETH Zurich/UiB).

Check <http://www.uib.no/rs/acdc> for details and continuous updates on list of lecturers and program.

Vimeo: <https://vimeo.com/108883495>
Facebook: <https://facebook.com/acdcsummerschool>
Twitter: <https://twitter.com/#acdcsummerschool>

For contact: acdc@uib.no