TV Weather Forecast Award

The TV Weather Forecast Award is presented to individuals to acknowledge best practice in communication of meteorology. The Award is presented annually in form of a trophy.

Broadcast meteorologists are invited each year to submit a video clip of a weather forecast, produced during the period given in the announcement, for presentation at the EMS Annual Meeting of the respective year. All broadcast meteorologists who submit a video clip are eligible for the TV Weather Forecast Award, no regional restriction applies for this award.

The Award is normally presented during the EMS Annual Meeting and the forecast highlighted on the EMS website Best Practice section.

Terms of reference

Name and scope of the Award

EMS TV Weather Forecast Award

The EMS TV Weather Forecast Award is given annually in recognition of an outstanding example of a TV weather forecast.

Eligibility and Decision Process

All broadcast meteorologists who submit a video clip, produced during the period since August of the preceding calendar year, in mp4-format are eligible for the TV Weather Forecast Award.

A selection committee, consisting of the Chair of the EMS Media and Communication Team, the winner of the Award in the preceding year, and at least two experts will decide on who will be the Laureate. The committee will normally work by e-mail.

The documentation required for the proposal in addition to the video clip is a statement giving permission
(i) to show the video clip during the EMS Annual Meeting,
(ii) to include it in the electronic publication of the Media Session, and
(iii) to include a description of the video clip on the EMS internet site as example of good practice in broadcast meteorology.


The Award consists of a trophy and is presented during the EMS Annual Meeting.

TV Forecast Award 2019

Karsten Schwanke, ARD, Germany, received the TV Weather Forecast Award 2019.

The call for applications for the Award 2020 will be issued in spring 2020.

Previous Awardees

2011: Jean Byrne, Ireland

2010: Florin Busuioc, Romania

2009: Danny Roup, Israel

2008: Jill Peeters, Belgium

2007: Francis Wilson, United Kingdom

2006: Jay Trobec, United States

By continuing to use the site, you agree to our privacy policy and the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.