EMS News

Collective Global Climate Statement Released for Earth Day

An international coalition of 33 meteorological and climate societies and institutions have released a Collective Global Climate Statement to coincide with Earth Day on 22nd April, which this year is focused on environmental and climate literacy. [more]

EMS Outstanding Contribution Award to Sylvain Joffre

The EMS Council at its recent Session selected Sylvain Joffre, chair of the EMS Committee on Meetings, as the recipient of the EMS Outstanding Contribution Award 2017. He is honoured for pursuing and advancing the growth of the Annual Meeting activities of the Society through continuous and exceptional dedication to international networking and connecting diverse communities. [more]

EPM12, Le Bastard

Understanding Clouds

World Meteorological Day - 23 March 2017.
Clouds are of enormous importance for weather, climate and water. Clouds are central to weather observations and forecasts. [more]

Météo et Climat: International Weather and Climate Forum

"Infrastructure and climate change – How will climate change impact infrastructure?" - Météo et Climat is organising the 14th International Weather and Climate Forum, with particpatory discussions on 23 March, a Symposium on 24 March in Paris, and a Media workshop on Climate Change from 30 March to 1 April in Turin/Italy. [more]

UMFVG has elected Laura Palmisano as the new president

The Unione Meteorologica del Friuli Venezia Giulia (UMFVG) has elected a new board, with Laura Palmisano as the new president.
Laura Palmisano earned a Master Degree in Natural Sciences at the Università degli Studi di Trieste and has dedicated her career to the promotion and teaching of science. [more]

Werner Wehry

Prof Dr Werner Wehry sadly passed away on 4 December 2016 aged 77. He was one of the founders of the European Meteorological Society and also served as the second President of the Society during the years 2002 to 2005. [more]

EMS Young Scientist Award 2016 to Giovanni Tumolo

The EMS Young Scientist Award 2016 is awarded to Giovanni Tumolo from the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy for his publication: “A semi-implicit, semi-Lagrangian discontinuous Galerkin framework for adaptive numerical weather prediction”, G. Tumolo, L. Bonaventura, Q.J.R. Meteror. Society 141: 2582-2601, Oct 2015, A doi: 10.1002/qj2544. [more]

MARS and BOBER receive EMS Technology Achievement Award 2016

The First EMS Technology Achievemnent Awards in the field of meteorology and earth observation go to MARS, the Meteorological Archival and Retrieval System developed at ECMWF, and the BOBER - Distributed "real-time" Environmental Measuring System, developed at the Slovenian Environmental Agency. [more]

Michel Jarraud selected to receive EMS Silver Medal 2016

The European Meteorological Society (EMS) has chosen Michel Jarraud as Laureate of the EMS Silver Medal 2016. He is honoured for significant scientific contributions to the establishment of spectral methods in numerical weather prediction, his leading role in ... [more]

logo Tromp Foundation

New EMS Tromp Young Scientist Travel Award for papers in Biometeorology

Deadline for applications and submission of abstracts: 16 March 2016
This award is specifically for presentations in the area of biometeorology at the EMS & ECAC in September in Trieste. The award consists of financial support for travel expenditures of 700€.
More details at http://www.emetsoc.org/awards/... [more]

EMS Silver Medal 2016: Call for nominations

EMS Member Societies, EMS Associate Members, EMS Committees and Project Teams, and EMS Council representatives are invited to make nominations for the EMS Silver Medal 2016.
Details are available from the call for nominations.
The deadline for nominaions is 15 January 2016. [more]

Photo Stéphane Foucart

EMS Journalist Award 2015 for Stéphane Foucart, France

The EMS Journalist Award is presented to Stéphane Foucart, France, for addressing climate change and its social and environment impact, highlighting the different aspects, e.g. in the context of history and politics, and reporting the recent scientific facts, while keeping a high level of objectiveness. [more]

First EMS Tromp Award goes to Bert G. Heusinkveld

The EMS Tromp award has recently been established and is given for the first time this year. The Tromp Foundation (Foundation for Biometeorological Research), the legacy of Solco W. Tromp, is funding this award with the intention to promote biometeorology in Europe.
The EMS Tromp Award 2015 winner is Bert G. Heusinkveld from the University of Wageningen. [more]

Photo Martin Barreiro

EMS TV Weather Forecast Award to Martín Barreiro, TVE (Television Española), Spain

The entry went beyond a “normal” weathercast, as it included information about the ocean and red tides. There was also a good scientific explanation of the link between meteorological conditions affecting wave heights and strengths on the western coast of Spain. His presentation of weather conditions was poised, confident, and thorough. [more]

EMS Outreach & Communication Award 2015 for the UK Festival of Weather, Arts and Music (WAM)

The Festival of Weather, Arts and Music (WAM) has found new ways to communicate the beauty and fascination of meteorology thereby enhancing the understanding of weather and climate science by the general public in the United Kingdom. This outstanding initiative has broadened the reach of scientific meteorology and enabled the general public to engage with meteorology in novel ways. [more]

EMS Young Scientist Award 2015 for Miguel Potes

The EMS Young Scientist Award 2015 is awarded to Miguel Potes from the University of Evora, Portugal, for his publication: „Satellite remote sensing of water turbidity in Alqueva reservoir and implications on lake modelling“, M. Potes, M. J. Costa and R. Salgado; Hydrol. Earth Syst. Sci., 16, 1623–1633, 2012, www.hydrol-earth-syst-sci.net/16/1623/2012/, doi:10.5194/hess-16-1623-2012. [more]

Photo Tanja Cegnar

First EMS Outstanding Contribution Award to Tanja Cegnar

The EMS Council at its recent Session selected Tanja Cegnar, chair of the EMS Media Team, as the first recipient of the EMS Outstanding Contribution Award. She is honoured for her relentless pursuit of the Media and Communication activities of the Society, ... [more]