The Outstanding Contribution Award

The Outstanding Contribution Award is granted to individuals in recognition of important contributions to the European Meteorological Society over a period of several years.

The Award is normally awarded biennially in the form of a certificate presented to the recipient during the award ceremony of the EMS Annual Meeting.

The EMS Bureau, representatives on the EMS Council and the EMS Executive Secretary are eligible to make proposals.
The EMS Bureau makes a recommendation, with the final decision being taken by Council.

The award was launched in 2015 and the first recipient was Tanja Cegnar.

Previous Award Recipients

2015: Tanja Cegnar

Photo Tanja Cegnar

Tanja Cegnar

Tanja Cegnar is honoured for her relentless pursuit of the Media and Communication activities of the Society, continuously contributing to their growth and promoting with exceptional dedication the international networking of Broadcast Meteorologists, developing the Media and Communication session programme at Annual Meetings as a forum for exchange and communication, as well as instigating communication and public presentation training for scientists.

Tanja has been leading the Media Committee from its establishment in 2000 until 2008; then the committee adopted a more project based approach and Tanja as chair of the Media Team has coordinated the activities  and instigated new projects – and continues to do so.
Tanja Cegnar works at the Slovenian Environment Agency and is a weather presenter at the national television in Slovenia.