EMS Tromp Award for an outstanding achievement in biometeorology

The European Meteorological Society and the Tromp Foundation collaborate on this new EMS Tromp Award to promote Biometeorology in Europe and within the EMS community.
The Tromp Foundation (Foundation for Biometeorological Research), the legacy of Solco W. Tromp, is funding this new award, initially for three years. The award is announced annually and was given the first time in 2015.


Anybody having published a scientific paper in the field of biometeorology meeting the criteria detailed below and resident in Europe (WMO RAVI) is eligible to apply for the award. There is no age restriction. Scientists can apply directly or be nominated by another person.

Application/nomination procedure

  • The EMS-Tromp-Award is awarded to a scientist for an excellent scientific paper in the field of biometeorology.
  • The paper must have been published in an international peer-reviewed journal with the nominee as first author.
  • The nomination may be made by the scientist him/herself or by others working in the field of biometeorology.
  • The nomination needs to be accompanied by the PDF of the published scientific paper, Curriculum Vitae, and publication list.


The prize in is presented during the EMS Annual Meeting. The awardee will receive $US 1,000 and travel expenses to attend the EMS Annual Meeting (includes return economy air fare, accommodation and registration fees).
The awardee is expected to give a presentation at one of the sessions thematically related to biometeorology at the EMS Annual meeting, for example Human Biometeorology, Adaptation, Urban Climate or Agrometerology.

Next call for nominations

The call for nominations 2017 will be issued in early spring 2017; the deadline will be 15 May 2017.

Previous award recipients

photo_barbara-templThe EMS Tromp Award 2016 was presented to Barbara Templ from Eötvös Lorànd University, Hungary, nominated with the paper: Flowering phenological changes in relation to climate change in Hungary, B. Szabó, E. Vincze, B. Czúcz, 2016, published in the International Journal of Biometeorology, DOI 10.1007/s00484-015-1128-1.


The award was presented during the EMS Annual Meeting in September 2016 in Trieste, Italy. Barbara Templ gave a presentation in the Session on Phenology.

Launch and first award 2015

Bert Heusinkveld

Bert Heusinkveld


The first award winner is Bert G. Heusinkveld, University of Wageningen, The Netherlands. He is awarded for the publication:
Spatial variability of the Rotterdam urban heat island as influenced by urban land use, published in the Journal of Geophysical Research: Atmospheres, 2014.

The award was presented during the EMS Annual Meeting Awards Session on 08 September 2015 in Sofia, Bulgaria: Photo gallery of the Awards Session.