Committee on Meetings members


Renate Hagedorn, Product Design and Customer Relations Division, Deutscher Wetterdienst.
Committee member since 2013

Renate Hagedorn gained her Ph.D. at the Institute for Marine Sciences in Kiel, Germany. After 10 years at the European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF) in Reading, UK, working on diagnostics and applications related to ECMWF’s Ensemble Prediction Systems, she joined the German National Meteorological Service (DWD). Her main area of responsibility is to foster the dialogue between developers and users of meteorological products and services, especially in the area of renewable energy applications, civil protection and early warning systems.



Sylvain Joffre, retired since January 2016 from the Finnish Meteorological Institute, where he acted as Head of the Meteorological Research Dept. (since 2008), and as Research professor since 1994.
Committee member since 2008; since 2014 he chairs the CoM.

Sylvain Joffre graduated in Physics from Paris University and received his PhD on boundary Layer dynamics from the Univ. of Helsinki in 1981. He has worked at the Finnish Institute of Marine Research, and for the European Commission (DG-Environment). He was also Adjunct Professor at the University of Helsinki.

He served on various international committees (COST, HIRLAM, EUMETSAT).


Gert-Jan Steeneveld, Assistant Professor at Wageningen University.
Committee member since 2014

Gert-Jan graduated for his PhD in 2007 on the understanding and forecasting of stable atmospheric boundary layers over land. Currently, Gert-Jan is assistant professor at Wageningen University (the Netherlands). His research focuses on unravelling fog physics, WRF-mesoscale modelling, and urban meteorology, amongst others via crowdsourcing of meteorological data.
Since 2008, he is board member of the Dutch Meteorological Society. He received the EMS Young Scientist Award in 2013, and convenes the session on Formulation, validation and parameterization of small-scale processes in atmospheric modelling at the EMS Annual meetings.


Saskia Willemse MeteoSwiss (Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology),Switzerland
Committee member since 2014

Saskia graduated from Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH), Zürich
Earlier positions were at the National Agency for the Environemnt (BAFU), ETH, the HR unit at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology.



Martina Junge is the Executive Secretary of the EMS
Committee member since it was re-established in 2008.