Awards Committee


  • Support excellence in young European scientists
  • Support the participation in EMS sponsored conferences of outstanding students and young scientists


Detailed descriptions of the awards, forthcoming announcements and information on earlier recipients are published under the Awards section.

The Committee members

The EMS Awards Committee consists of at least five senior scientists, working in Europe; they should either be a member of one of the EMS Member Societies or a member/staff of an EMS Associate Member. The membership of the Committee is approved by the EMS Council. The current members are:

  • Guðrún Nína Petersen (FIV, Iceland) – Chair
  • Mojca Dolinar (EARS, Slovenia)
  • Jenni Rauhala (FMI, Finland)
  • Fulvio Stel (UMFVG, Italy)
  • Jean-Noël Thépaut (ECMWF)
  • Carlos Yagüe (AME, Spain)
  • Hilppa Gregow: Unit Head of Climate Service Centre of the FMI in Helsinki.
    Committee member 2014, standing in for Jenni Rauhala
  • Johannes Schmetz: Chief Scientist at EUMETSAT (until 2015)
    Committee member 2008-2013, Chair 2011 – 2013
  • Sarah Jones: Head of Business Area Research and Development, Germany
    Committee member 2007-2012
  • Hans Richner: ETH Zurich, SGM, Switzerland
    Committee member 2002-2011
  • Dario Giaiotti: ARPA-OSMER, Palmanova; Italy
    Chair of the Committee 2007-2011
  • The late Werner Wehry: Professor of FU Berlin, DMG, Germany
    Chair of the Committee 2002-2007