Awards Committee members


Guðrún Nína Petersen is a Research Scientist at the Icelandic Meteorological Office.
She is also President of the Icelandic Meteorological Society Veðurfræðifélagið.
Committee member since 2011; she is the current chair of the committee.

Mojca Dolinar has been working as meteorologist at the Slovenian Environmental Agency since 1996. Since 2004 she is Head of the Climatology Department. Her main research field in recent years is climate variability and spatial climatology.

Mojca is the Vice President of Slovenian Meteorological Society. Since 2006 she has been acting as co-convenor for the EMS Annual Meeting session on Spatial Climatology. She is also a Guest Editor of Advances in Science and Research.
Committee member since 2013


Jenni Rauhala is a meteorologist at Meteorological Research Unit of the Finnish Meteorological Institute. Her research is concentrated on severe convective storms and tornadoes.

Committee member since 2008.


Fulvio Stel is a Reasearcher at ARPA-OSMER, Palmanova,
CRMA – Regional Center for Environmental Modeling

Former President of Friuli Venezia Giulia Meteorological Society (UMFVG), Fulvio is currently employed at the Regional Environmental Agency. He worked as a forecaster for some ten years, carrying out research in the field of severe weather events and recently turned his interests to the topic of environmental modelling, in particular air pollution.

Fulvio is a co-founder of the European Severe Storm Laboratory (ESSL) and the European Severe Weather Database programme (ESWD). Since 2004 he has been acting as convenor for the EMS Annual Meeting sessions on atmospheric hazards and severe weather. He is an Associated Editor of Atmospheric Research and a contract professor and member of a Fluid Mechanics PhD programme at the Atmospheric Physics department at the University of Trieste.
Committee member since 2011


Jean-Noël Thépaut is the Head of the Data Division and Deputy Director of the Research Department at ECMWF. His group is in charge of the development of world-class data assimilation algorithms for NWP, the exploitation of satellite observations from operational and research EO platforms, and the development and production of state-of-the-art atmospheric reanalyses.

Jean-Noël is “ingénieur de la météorologie” from Météo-France. He received his PHD from PARIS-VI university in 1992, in the field of of atmospheric data assimilation. He serves on a number of international committees.
Committee member since 2013


Carlos Yagüe is a member of AME (Spanish Meteorological Society). His main research field is the study of the Atmospheric Boundary Layer.

Carlos Yagüe obtained his BSc degree in Physics at the Complutense University of Madrid (UCM) in 1988, and after a scholarship for postgraduate studies at the University of Cambridge (UK) in 1990 obtained his PhD in 1993 at UCM.

From 1992 to 1996 he was an assistant lecturer on atmospheric physics and in 1996 he joined the Research Department of the National Meteorological Service. Since 2003 he is a full time professor at the department of Geophysics and Meteorology at UCM. Carlos has participated in many national and international research projects and is the author or co-author of 40 scientific papers, many of them in peer review publications.
Committee member since 2011